Research!

Posted: October 8, 2011 in GLOA 491

Okay, time to get serious. With the draft precis is due in 3 weeks, I better step up my research game. Hopefully I’m not the only one. I took Professor Kelly’s advice and met with a reference librarian at Fenwick this week, Ms. Elena Landry. By the way, she said to tell all of my GLOA 491 colleagues to request an appointment. I decided to post a couple of things that might help everyone with their research.
First, Ms. Landry gave me a list of all of the various GMU databases (http://furbo.gmu.edu/dbwiz/SPT–BrowseResources.php) where I might be able to find sources on my topic. I hope these help you too:
  1.           HeinOnline.
  2.           ProjectMuse.
  3.           Journal of International Affairs (not actually a database, but Ms. Landry says that this is still a valuable resource).
  4.           Columbia International Affairs Online (a.k.a CIAO).
  5.           Congressional Publications.
  6.           Economist Intelligence Unit – Country Info.
  7.           Gender Watch.
  8.           Global NewsBank.
  9.           Global Issues in Context.
  10.           International Relations and Security Network.
  11.           LexisNexis Academic.
  12.           Proquest Research Lab.
  13.          Public Affairs Information Service.
Second, if anyone is interested, here are some journal articles I’ve read that show some promise, all of which I found using Academic Search Complete:
  1. Human Trafficking in the Phillipines: the need for an effective anti-corruption program, by Andrew Gurth;
  2. The Perfect Business’: Human Trafficking and Lao-Thai Cross-Border Migration, by Sverre Molland;
  3. Economics of Human Trafficking, by Elizabeth Wheaton, et al.; and
  4. Supply and Demand: Human Trafficking in the Global Economy, by Siddharth Kara.
Finally, our discussion about interviewing human subjects and going through the GMU Human Subjects Review Board made me think about some work that I’m finishing up for my company recruiting human subjects to participate in low-risk studies with the US Army Research Laboratory. In doing this I was introduced to the basics behind the human subjects review process. I also participated in one of the studies myself.  I still have my consent form, which goes into a lot of detail about exactly what the the subject will be doing, what the research will be used for, at what point one can opt out, etc. It’s not exactly the same as what we’re doing, but the principles of using human research subjects still apply, and it might help give you a broad idea of what the pros do when conducting practical (as opposed to academic) research. I’ll bring the letter with me to our next class if anyone wants to check it out.
Leave a Reply

