Modern Slavery and Consumer Decision-Making

Posted: October 15, 2011 in GLOA 491
Tags: , , , ,

I came across an interesting article about a program called Free2Work run by the anti-slavery organization Not4Sale. Actually I think Carolina may have posted about this before, but I just rediscovered it. Free2Work grades products on a A-F scale “based on the tangible steps that a company has taken to demonstrate that it has zero tolerance for forced labour in its supply chain…The Free2Work tool can be downloaded as an app on the Android and iPhone. Walk into a store and scan the price tag and you can learn the story behind its bar code.” I downloaded the Android version and couldn’t find the scanner feature, but it still has a cool feature that lets you browse companies and view their slave labor grade, and the methodology behind the calculation. Check it out for yourself.

I also took a survey that uses your responses to various lifestyle questions to “find out how many slaves work for you.”  If you complete the survey, you can make some inferences about the ways in which common items of our consumption may have been produced using slave labor, just from the questions they ask about your habits. According to my results, 45 slaves work for me; find out how many slaves work for you: http://www.slaveryfootprint.org/.

Comments
  1. annabel says:

    Wow, Craig!
    I do like your post. And I’m certainly interested in taking this “How many slaves work for you” survey. However, I am afraid of what I will find out. I mean, it is depressing enough to learn so many devestating things about humanity, especially in the scope of our research; and then to see how “deeply” I am involved. Ouch.
    But I guess I’ll have to take it now, huh?
    I’ll let you know in my next post how many “I took”.

  2. Paola says:

    OK, so I feel lame. A 30?!? That’s my score, and I don’t even own any diamonds or gems…Guess it’s the shoes. Yes, that is my weakness;-) Not so funny though, when you begin to think about the torture other humans face to fulfill the mundane pleasure of the masses. Ick. I tried to upload that app to my phone but can’t for some reason?? I’ll try again. Thanks for posting that Craig–you find some really cool things out there.

  3. carolina687 says:

    Yup! I posted it a few weeks ago. It’s an amazing website 🙂

Leave a Reply

